1 ½ pounds carrots
½ tsp salt
1 tsp basil
½ cup butter/margarine
1 small clove garlic, crushed
½ tsp thyme
¼ tsp celery salt
1 cup seedless grapes
1 Tbsp lemon juice
1/8 tsp salt
Few grains of pepper
Wash and pare carrots; cut into 3x1/4 inch strips. Put carrots into saucepan; add salt, basil and enough boiling water to steam. Cook covered for 12 to 15 minutes or until carrots are crisp-tender. Melt butter; add garlic, thyme and celery salt. Set aside. Remove carrots from heat; add grapes. Let stand covered for 1 to 2 minutes; drain off liquid. Stir lemon juice into seasoned butter; pour over carrots. Season with salt & pepper; toss mixture gently. Serve immediately. Yield: 6-8 servings.
(Mrs. Robert A. Riffenburg, Warfield, VA © Southern Living 1968)
Gluten-free and Vegetarian/Vegan Recipes
To meet my needs of being “gluten-free”, there are no ingredients that have wheat in them. Since one out of one-hundred people now have problems with the way the United States processes their foods, there are plenty of brands which are marked GF Gluten-free. However, read all the way around the label and determine if there might be traces of wheat or if the product was processed in a plant or on machinery that also handles wheat. (These statements are usually NOT found near the list of ingredients.) If this is the case and you are gluten-sensitive or have a wheat-toxicity, don’t use it!
I also deleted recipes which called for hidden gluten – like shrimp, frozen mangoes and parsnips.
Vegetarian foods allow the use of milk, honey, eggs, and other non-kill animal products; vegans do not. I have endeavored to post only recipes with vegan-appropriate ingredients. If I really liked something, though, that was vegetarian rather than vegan, I will note it.
Whenever possible, use non-GMO products (non-genetically modified). If you think gmo’s are ok for you, you haven’t read any science fiction books, let alone Charles Darwin.
These recipes are not an attempt to substitute wheat or animal ingredients with something else. These recipes are “naturally” or originally gluten-free and vegetarian/vegan.